Time and imagination

Something weird has been going on.  It’s about time.

It moves in strange ways.  In one thought it’s flying by so fast and in another I’m packing loads in, almost impossibly.

And I feel weird about time too.  My first blog ended with me describing myself as 48+1, and I’m still just in that space.  But I also had the imaginative idea of doing 50 new things or experiences between the ages of 49 and 50 #50×50.  Things that I haven’t done before.  Crazy huh? Mid life crisis? Maybe.  But I prefer to think of it as ‘if you can imagine it then you can find a way of doing it’.

And isn’t leadership like that too.  Great leaders have vision.  They see possibilities and create a compelling vision of a wanted future.  It’s not real, it may not even be possible, but through storytelling and charisma great leaders create a followership.  People who believe in what the leader has imagined and who want to make it happen.

But imagination is not just a great thing, it can be terrible too.  Creating imagined demons of those who are different to ‘us’ Demonising people by imagining who they are and speaking poison about them.  And imagined horror.  Whether that’s someone we work with, a family member,  neighbour or a foreigner (I use the word deliberately and provacatively)

So the point of all this is that imagination can be a great thing, driving us forward to great things eg #connectinghrafrica – awesome work guys.  No-one can really imagine what you guys saw, did and felt, not really, because only you really experienced it.

And I’ve knocked off my #50×50.  Loving the experiences and the support and the people who mean such a lot to me and who helped make it happen.  If you want to see and read about what I did here’s the link

#50×50

It’s been a wonderful time, and I imagine that there are great times ahead too.   Thank you all.  I’ll see you around for the next adventures.

But, as ever, I’ll leave you with a thought – what are you going to do with your time and imagination?

By andrewphillipmarsland

Leave a comment